Bloom Where You are Planted

Testimony of God’s Guidance through His Word

Carolyn D. Davis

My Mentor’s Advice

“You should accept that job offer! It’s a great job. Pray about it again!”

The year was 2003. And with these words my trusted mentor of four years encouraged me to accept a job offer that was located outside of Georgia.

Flashbacks

Samples entries from my journals:

February 9, 2002:

One of my desires is “to work at the school the LORD would have me work.”

October 22, 2002:

LORD, ”please help me see sin clearly, and please give me the patience to wait for the best option for every decision.”

November 5, 2002:

Please transform me by the renewing of my mind, so I will know what your will is LORD…, please speak to my heart regarding my next step (where will I work?…with what body of believers do you want me to fellowship?)….

November 11, 2002:

“Faithful is He who calls you and He will also bring it to pass. (1 Thessalonians 5:24)”

Decision

By December, 2002, I was certain that God had answered my prayers regarding my next steps. He had given me an opportunity to serve Him in ways I had not imagined –joining a missions team, joining a new Sunday School class and serving the class as assistant prayer coordinator. So, in January, 2003, I told my mentor that I would not take this job offer (which paid more than I had ever made to that point in my life) because I did not think it was God’s will.

My mentor was adamant that I could move to the job location and work there for a few years, and that I should pray again.

God’s Confirmation

The teacher of my new Sunday School class asked us to read “The Supremacy of God” chapter in Arthur Pink’s The Nature of God. Before reading the chapter, I asked God to make clear to me His will concerning this job offer.

My journal entry from January 7, 2003 describes God’s answer….

“Here I am ‘struggling’ with staying in Atlanta and all the developing consequences (…other people’s reaction…)…As I am struggling – I am reading the lesson…and of ALL the bible verses cited, I feel prompted to look up James 4:13, 15 [and following]. This is what those verses say—

‘Come now, you who say, Today or tomorrow we will go to such and such a city, and spend a year there and engage in business and make a profit. Yet you do not know what your life will be like tomorrow. You are just a vapor that appears for a little while and then vanishes away. Instead, you ought to say, If the Lord wills, we will live and also do this or that. …Therefore, to one who knows the right thing to do and does not do it, to him it is sin.’” (emphasis added)

As a fairly new born-again Christian, I had never before seen these verses. Needless to say, I was floored by God’s answer to my prayer through His Word!!

 

Leave a Reply

